### Byelaw committee proposals for amendments.

Byelaw committee meetings were held under the chairmanship of Dr. Aravind Patel and Dr. Chandrashekar. N. Hon, secretary KSCASI as convenor, 3 meetings were conducted on zoom platform on 6<sup>th</sup> Jun, 28<sup>th</sup> Nov and 4<sup>th</sup> December. All members were present during all the meeting and had a detailed discussion on all proposed amendments which were sent to the byelaw committee. All the members unanimously accepted to propose the following amendments after detailed deliberations.

### **Deliberations:**

- 1. All the members unanimously accepted to continue medical college and non-medical college area nomenclature, as still many of the members continue to work in rural area and in places where medical colleges are not there. Hence all the members felt that they need to be given space to represent.
- 2. Since a long time EC members number remains same. As the present member strength has increased, members felt that there is a need to increase the number of EC members. Hence it was recommended to increase the number from existing 9 to 12. Zone wise distribution is recommended by the members of the byelaw committee for a uniform representation across the state. Divisions are based on the Revenue divisions of Karnataka.
- 3. As non-medical college area EC representation is less and lack of senior people to apply for the chairman post, its recommended to continue elections for chairman elect post 3:1 for medical and non-medical college area.
- 4. Committee recommended to continue election of KSCASI office-bearers by physical voting during the AGBM. Members expressed that conference registration will increase and more number of people will attend the conference and also people who are interested in the organisation will come for the conference and contest for the election. Hence recommendation was for elections of the office bearers by physical voting during the AGBM.

Dr. Aravind Patel. Dr. Chandrashekar. N

Chairman byelaw committee. Secretary, KSCASI.

# Members of byelaw committee.

- 1. Dr. Chiniwalar. V V.
- 2. Dr. Gurshanthappa Yalagachin.
- 3. Dr. Prabahkara. GN.
- 4. Dr. Naaz Jahan shaikh.
- 5. Dr. Sarvesh Raj Arus.
- 6. Dr. Nataraja Bhalki.

# AMENDMENTS TO BYELAW.

Proposals received.	Existing byelaw	<b>Proposed amendments</b>
Abolishing medical	Medical and non-medical	To continue medical college
and non-medical	college area contestant –	and non-medical college
college area.	description	area nomenclature.
	As per the EC meeting on	
	12th February, 2016, a sub	
	committee was formed to	
	bring a change in the present	
	amendment of medical and	
	non-medical	
	controversy. The same	
	matter was brought before	
	the General Body meeting in	
	2016at Shivamogga. The	
	GB had accepted &	
	approved the	
	recommendations of	
	the sub -committee.	
	Accordingly, to the GB	
	approved recommendations	
	Medical and Non-medical	
	College areas are defined as follows:	
	Medical college area is	
	defined as the City or Town	
	in which the medical	
	college is situated. The	
	member who is attached to	
	the medical college, and a	
	member practicing in that	
	city or town belongs to the	
	medical college area.	
	For example, 1.	
	Sulya is not a big city but	
	has a medical college, so it	
	comes under the Medical	
	College Area.	
	Non-Medical college Area is	
	defined as the Surgeons	
	practicing in the Place,	
	Taluka or District where	
	there is no medical college.	
	For example, Yadgiri and	
	Chikmagalur are district	
	headquarters but do not	
	have a medical college, so	
	they come under non-	
	medical college area. The	
	population wise description as per the Government	
	policy of urban, semi urban	
	and rural is not considered.	
	and fural is not constucted.	

	17. 1. Medical college and non-medical college nomenclature should continue, which is very clear.	
2. Zone wise distribution of EC members for better representation of all the regions of the Karnataka.	8. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE EC members –9 (out of which 3 shall be from non- medical College area and 6 from Medical College area). 17. iii. EC Member: 4. When there is a woman contestant for an EC post, she should be given a priority. In case there are more than one contestant they will be elected on the basis of votes. 5. The ratio of contestants from medical college area & non-medical college area for Chairman Elect is 3:1 year (3yearsfor Medical college area and the 4th year is for non-medical college area, and then it will repeat.	For E C Member.  Increase the EC member strength from 9 to 12 members. One EC MEMBER for 200 life members of KSCASI [as the present member strength is 2490] max ceiling to 12.  To form total 4 zones.  Bangalore zone, Mysore zone, Belagavi zone and Kalburgi zone.  Based on the Revenue divisions of Karnataka [Details in Anx.1.].  All 4 divisions will have one medical college area E C and one Non-medical college area E C member.  2 EC member posts reserved for female members, one from medical college and non-medical college area [divisions will not be applicable, open to all female members of KSCASI]. If there are more than one candidate then selection of the candidate is through voting.  Remaining 2 EC member posts[medical college area only] will be rotated between two zones one for each on regular basis.  [details in Anx-2. Rotation policy done for next 8 elections].  If there are no application from any zone in any

category then selection of

		the members done from the floor of the same zone. Physical presence of such candidate is mandatory.
		For chairman elect:
		Zonal divisions not applicable for chairman elect post.
		Continue 3:1 for medical college and non-medical college area as per the existing byelaw.
3. To continue elections of KSCASI by physical/online.	i. The Secretary shall call for nominations for all the vacant posts from the eligible members every year, minimum FOUR weeks before the proposed General Body Meeting. The nomination shall be placed upon a ballot and voted for at the Annual General Body Meeting and the candidates securing the highest number	To continue elections of KSCASI by physical (BALLOT VOTING).  Tribunal should be formed before the election notification.
	of votes shall be declared elected. Physical presence of the contestant is compulsory. Otherwise, votes in favour of him shall be considered invalid. If there is a tie, a coin may be tossed to choose the office bearers. vi. To set up a KSC-ASI tribunal consisting of three very senior members of very good repute for being honest and unbiased for all disputes.	

## Annexure 1.

# **Revenue divisions [zones]**

# 1. Bengaluru division.

Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural, Chikaballapura, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Kolar, Ramanagara, Shimoga and Tumakuru.

### 2. Mysuru division.

Chamarajanagara, Chikmagalur, Dakshina Kannada, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Mysuru and Udupi, Uttara kannada

## 3. Belagavi division.

Bagalkot, Belgaum, Hubli-Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, Uttara Kannada and Bijapur.

### 4. Kalaburgi division.

Bellary, Bidar, Kalaburgi, Koppal, Raichur, Yadgiri and Vijayanagara

#### Annexures 2.

## Rotation of 2 EC members posts [medical college area].

Election year.	Zones allotted.
2025	Mysuru and Belagavi zone.
2027	Bengaluru and Kalburgi zone.
2029	Mysuru and Belagavi zone.
2031	Bengaluru and Kalburgi zone.
2033	Mysuru and Belagavi zone.
2035	Bengaluru and Kalburgi zone.
2037	Mysuru and Belagavi zone.